Love and other things.

It was back in the 12th grade when I came up with this. Recently I have been in full to nostalgia mode and I have been trying to find a gateway to the past. These include all the films that I watched which were more often than not were directed or written by John Hughes, the music that I listened to and still listen to a major chunk of which are Beatles albums and a lot of books I read which were a mix of Indian authors and Nick Hornby for some strange reason. High Fidelity, A long way down and Fever Pitch are still crystal clear in my memory. All that said I ended up writing this poem in Hindi randomly out of the blue. So here goes nothing.

नन्ही सी कलियाँ खिलने लगी हैं

प्रेम का सागर भरने लगा हैं

जरा हमे भी बताओ ये क्या होने लगा हैं ?

आकाश के तारे जरा टिमटिमा रहे हैं

प्रेम की नदियाँ बहने लगी हैं

जरा हमे भी बताओ ये क्या होने लगा हैं ?

चिड़ियों की चहक से प्यार होने लगा हैं

पानी की महक से दिल भरने लगा हैं

जरा हमे भी बताओ ये क्या होने लगा हैं ?

कश्मीर की हवाए मुझे छूने लगी हैं

हिमालय की बर्फ में ये दिल खो सा गया हैं

जरा हमे भी बताओ ये क्या होने लगा हैं ?

पेड़ो की छाया में खो से गए हम

सपनो की बंधिश में उलझ से गए हम

आज पता चल रहा है, ज़िन्दगी बीत गयी हैं

पर दिल यह हमारा प्यार कर ना सका हैं !!

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Because people are stupid.

Yes. Enough said. Do not read beyond this point. Yesterday was a life changing experience for me. I managed to successfully watch first hand as a team answered every question in a quiz and the organizers were naive enough not to notice... Continue →